Setting up raid 0. wtf am I doing wrong?

I built a computer a year ago, used an old hard drive, and it just quit on me. I purchased 2 seagate 7200 250gb hard drives, and I want to set them up in a raid0. I set them up as raid 0 in bios, and see I have 499gb available, and it is functioning. When I reboot with a windows cd, I press f6 to setup the mobo bios driver from a floppy. Windows will never get through the setup. I get a blue screen telling me to reboot. The only way I will get into the setup screen again is to go back into bios and reset the hard drives in bios. Am I trying to do this backwards?

Sorry if this is confusing, I am new to this stuff.

Using the wrong driver perhaps? When you set it up in the BIOS and it shows the 500GB partition, does it also show 500GB when choosing the install location during the windows set up?

Also, run memtest to verify it isn’t something goofy like a bad stick of RAM.

Dont you sometimes need to hit like F8 in windows setup and install a RAID driver at the first step of the blue screen boot process.

yes, it shows 500gb on one drive in windows setup. Memtest didn’t show anything wrong. This setup was working until the hd stopped. The driver is right from the asus cd. It must be something simple I am missing. Should I try to reflash the bios to update it?

If setup sees the logical volume then you shouldnt need additional drivers.
What stage in the setup does it stop at?
I would start by flashing the BIOS and then defaulting it.
Worst case you could always install windows to a regular ATA drive, image it, install your RAID 0 and then redeploy the image to it. It should boot.

Right after setup installs the raid driver from the mobo, it tries to resume setup, and I get a blue screen. So if I setup raid right in bios, I should just try to install windows normally?

I would go with a raid 1 unless you don’t care about your data.

f6 - yea, you are doing this right?