speeding ticket

Hey guys, I’ve been driving for 4 years now, and just under a year ago I got my first speeding ticket. I chose to bring it to court, but of course, knowing me, I forgot out it, LOL. I was doing 79 in a 50 on Birchmount (In Scarborough). Do you guys know how many demerit points I lost? If so, how much will this affect my insurance premium?

2 or 3

demerit points dont affect insurance premium. The tickets themselves represent a hike in your premium but the demerit points have no effect.

so like my self i just got a over 10km speeding ticket no points just $40…will my insurence still go up, i’m still debating if i should fight it or not i was caught with a radar…any suggestions?

pay it…insurance won’t even know…

insurance will know… when you gotta reinstate it.
been threw it and it sucks.

but for the time beeing… enjoy for cheaper rates

Insurance will know. The insurance is actually canceling their policy with me. due to the number of tickets i have… Even those that dont costs points

oh crap so i’m pretty much done…best thing to do is guess save up for the increase. What do u mean by re-instate it?

Probably whenever you renew your liscense or transfer ownership or open a new policy you “reinstate your car”.

so what are you doing, in regards to getting insurance with another company then? my buddy had a similar experience to you, and right now he’s paying 10g’s on his rsx…

Your buddy’s probably under facility insurance… pretty expensive…

I’m currently contacting my state farm agent (my current insurance) and see what he can do about it…

Right now i’m on facility, my primary is 8000 a year, so I can’t afford to drive until next year, IF i don’t get a ticket. Then it drops to 6000, still pretty rough, I hate insurance sometimes.

your insurance will only know about a ticket if they check your license.

BUT thye try to do that for everyone very year
BUT they cant so they check the risky-er guys (by rating history) first.