SR20 + Legal Issues

Hey guys,

So lately I’ve been thinking about getting an SR swap.

I’m a very calm driver and I don’t usually get pulled over unless it’s for a legitimate reason. I’ve always heard about people being harassed by the MTO, and the police about illegal mods, mufflers etc. and in some cases their cars have been impounded or taken away based on these facts. Until last Saturday when I was pulled over for the first time in months, because the police officer thought my girlfriend was not wearing her seat belt, I never thought I’d get asked to visit an MTO officer to have my car checked for these things. I had nothing to worry about though because I know everything on my car is completely stock. Regardless putting my incident aside, it got me thinking.

I would really hate to invest my time and money into an SR swap just to have it all taken away at the blink of an eye, because the police or MTO decide to inspect my car one day when they pull over for whatever reason they choose.

With the increasing popularity of ‘street racers’, and what cars suit the description. I’d like to know everything I can, and do everything I can to prevent my car from being unnecessarily being impounded or taken away from me.

So saying all this:

Am I over reacting? Am I thinking to in depth? Can the MTO or police ACTUALLY take my car away based on the fact that I have an engine swap, or illegal mods? What will/can the MTO do if they see that there is a different engine, other than the one that is supposed to be in the car? Is there anyone that I should inform, or register with before doing a swap? Are there VIN/serial number on the engine that I should have registered to my car to make everything legit?