Stock questions (absolute noob here)

I’d like to start buying stocks. I want to just do it my self, for example.
Transfer money to etrade or the like
Buy some stock in a company that I think will be profitable.
profit?

What website should I buy through, is it as easy as I think?

for example, I’d like to buy stock in ford… it’s at 1.90 right now.
If I buy 100 shares, and ford goes bankrupt, i’m out $200, so what.
But if It goes to 4.00 i’m doubling my money…
correct?

is it as easy as this? someone lead me in the right direction.

yup, easy as that.

I don’t think you’ll loose all your $$$ if a company goes bankrupt though. I believe after debts are paid, the rest of their assets are divided between shareholders

bankruptcy doesnt necessarily mean ceasing operations. often times, bankruptcy is entered into because it is the only way to keep operations running. it provides protection from creditors.

I guess I worded that wrong. If a company goes under is maybe a better way to put it lol

profitable operations aren’t synonymous with high dividend payments or an appreciating stock price. if it were that simple, then everyone would make money in the market. most people haven’t been making money in the market lately, even if they are invested in stable, solvent, profitable entities.

But what i’m saying, lets say I buy $200 worth of stock in ford. each share is ~1.90. Lets say in a month it goes up to 4.00 a share, and I sell, that would net me ~$400, correct?

yup

if you buy 100 shares at X price, as X increases, you multiply your 100 shares by the new X.

but i believe they charge you for selling and initially buying stocks if im not mistaking

Ford wont be going to 4 dollars anytime soon. And only buy now if you can let it sit for a while. This is a good market to buy in for you are in it for the long run.

it was just an example he was using