Track car question..

This may sound dumb to the experienced but I have no experience with track racing etc…

I have a spare 99 3000gt sohc laying around that I want to turn into a track only car (trailer to loc). What I am wondering about is what are the legal requirements in terms of paperwork and mechanics?

What I mean by that is in terms of paperwork, i only have the salvage auction document which isn’t exactly a title but a bill of sale. Does it matter?

In terms of mechanics, what are the bare requirements? Braje lights, headlights, windshield, doors? If i make a custom rear glassless trunk, doors that are just part of the “roll cage” so i dont fall out, would that fly? Bumpers? School me on this please.

I will be working on this with my two boys over the years.

The safety stuff is upto whatever sanctioning body/track you’re racing in but you don’t need a title or anything.

Your talking about getting into road racing correct? You dont need any registration/title paperwork for any events that I am aware of. If your entirely new to road racing you might want to start out with some high performance driving events (HPDEs) that usually have classes for beginners. Most clubs that run them just want your car to be in good working order.

What track, what kind of racing? Track days? 1/4 mile? 1/8th mile? Door to door organized racing?

Planning on crossing the border to run over in Canada? Not sure if there are more requirements at customs since the only thing I’ve ever run at Canadian track days was my titled/registered/insured street vehicles.

This is all you “need”:
http://www.nyspeed.com/showthread.php?238474-Vid-Budget-Track-Car

This is pushing the limit and some track day organizers may push back:

Ok thanks guys.

Nothing is set in stone but im thinking open events at places like Watkins Glen, basically multi turn tracks or auto cross, no drag racing. I would go to TMP if its not too intense in bringing a car in/on a trailer.