What's the fair price for a KA24DE?

I’m a newbie here, and want to do a 95-98 gen 240sx project.

For a good condition KA24DE with around 200k and auto tranny, what’s the fair price for the combo?

Also, is it worth to buy a rusty 240sx as a project?

Thanks in advance.

^ you should introduce yourself first

and then search.

If you want a KA in decent condition, expect to pay $250-400, maybe $100 more if you want a 5 spd. with it. An auto shouldn’t cost much to buy since there is little demand for them. Its sad that the previous owner of my car spent $1800 to rebuild my transmission, and I’m willing to let it go for like $150. I just got the fucker swapped for a 5 spd. lol The auto would go for MUCH less, assuming someone even wanted to buy it, if it had 200k on it, but it doesn’t. From my perspective, it’s just taking up space in the basement. Bottom line, don’t settle for a high mileage auto, when you could get a rebuilt one CHEAP from me.

As for buying a rusty car, I’d say avoid it if you have big future plans for the car. If its going to be a daily, cosmetic rust shouldn’t be an issue, just make sure the frame rails and rad support are good. Rust proof it too. It helps. Go to Krown Lakeshore, they did my car for a good price.

For rust repairs, hit up draggone (Stephen) on this forum. He welds in new sheetmetal after grinding out all the rust followed by fiberglassing and primer, all for a decent price too. You’d be better off structurally/cosmetically and even financially to get a car with little to no rust to begin with, so this is just a semi-solution if you decide to get a rusty one.

Hope that helps. Sorry for the long post, but when I ask a question on SON, I expect a thorough and detailed response. I try to do the same when someone asks. :slight_smile:

Thanks everyone. Sorry not to introduce myself.

I used to drive an Integra GSR, and now I’m driving a RSX.

My plan is to keep the RSX as a dd, and then buy a 240 as a weekend project car.