Which Digital SLR to buy?

So I am an absolute noob, when it comes to Digital SLR’s. All I know is that I want to take wicked shots, of people, cars, plants, random things. My 3 yr old Sony Cyber Shot has proved faithful, but lacks quality and the edge that I am looking for.

So anyways, came across this guy selling his 07 Nikon D80 package for about $650, which seems ok I guess considering it sold for around a $1000 in 07. Great reviews, some say high learning curve, but thats ok.

And then I started looking at bestbuy at these Nikon 3000’s and the canon eos rebel xs and the olympus e420. They are all in the 400-500 range so with taxes 650-700 range. What do you think is a better choice?

My criteria of a good camera
-I don’t like taking pictures with flash, my current camera comes out all grainy without flash or blurry and I hate it.
-I want to be able to just focus on the subject and have everything else in the background or foreground blurred.
-B&W picture taking capability
-Image stabilization, sometimes taking those quick on the run pictures. Kinda want the pictures to come out steady (D80 doesn’t have this feature.)

And thats about it.

Iv always wanted a digital SLR just didnt know enough about them to move ahead with them, but figured enough was enough.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Also if anyone is selling anything…maybe a good time to let me know :smiley:

EOS REBEL IS ALWAYS A SAFE BUY

either the nikon d3000 if you are on a budget, or for an easy learning, look at the d5000. and of course the d90 if you are experienced or going to the photography field

go nikon. the blurred backgrounds will come from the lenses not the camera and thats where things get expensive.
i shoot with the D80 and have no complaints at all.