Auto to Manual tranny swap for 98 model

hey im new to this 240 car forum. earlier i posted that i purchased a 98 nissan 240sxse and i have a problem. when i bought the car it came with an automatic tranny and i wanna switch it over only because i prefer manual in a sporty car.

since i new to modding cars id rather watch and learn or get a mechanic to drop it in for me but here are a few of my concerns.

1. how relyable is this new manual tranny in an automatic car going to be?
  2. how much are parts going to cost?
  3. what parts do i need?
  4. should i just go to the wreckers for parts?
  5. how much would labour cost?
  6. how long will it take to accomplish?

thanks much appreciated.

Lets see… well, since you want to stay slow, you will want to find a manual tranny…

1. The tranny is going to be as reliable as any other car.

2. How ever much you pay for them, depending if you find a junk yard car, or if you buy oem items from your local nissan dealership. (which i highly recommend for some parts)

3. You are going to need (i am probably forgetting some stuff):
    Clutch Pedal
    Master Cylinder
    Slave sylinder
    Tranny
    Manual Driveshaft

4. see # 2

5. oh you’re not doing it yourself??? forget it, i don’t want to talk to you anymore…

Revised List

Proper Jack and Stands
Many Wrenches and Sockets
A Strong Friend to Hold the Tranny
Clutch Pedal Assembly
Brake Pedal Assembly
Clutch Master Cylinder
Clutch Slave Cylinder
Clutch Hard & Fle Line
Manual Tranny
Manual Driveshaft
Manual Tranny Brace
Manual ECU
Lower Wiring Harness (M/T)
Interior Shifter Cover
Interior Pannel w/ Boot
Shift Knob
2.4L of 75/80w - 90 Gear Oil

BAH FORGET IT !!!

If your not doing the work yourself forget it…

Labour is going to run you well over $1500…

the brake pedal can be easily cut and will work just as well as the manual pedal. u don’t REALLY need the brake pedal, though the manual one will bring it closer to the accelerator.