Power Steering or manual?

To have power steering or not to have power steering?

I’m getting to the point were I need to decide if I want power steering in the C5.

The car will only be a fun weekend driver for me to drive. This is not a girlie woman’s car, it is a man’s car. I’m almost 90% sure I’m going manual only, but would like to hear what ya’ll have to say. :slight_smile:

The car will have AC but I don’t really want or need PS.

What do you guys think? Will be used for Road racing, track days, and racing on zee highway.

Track days… Idk might be hard to go more than a few laps with manual steering, but I have no experience

Ditch it.

I loved the feel of manual steering. Sadly I had to go back to ps because Im driving the wrong wheels.

Dan

The faster you go the less you need it. :wink:

with road race tires?

see how you like that.

So no power steering on 245’s out front? Keeping AC but no power steering? WHY? why do that to yourself? put another bolt on on and make that fraction of a HP back.

IMHO summed up in one word… stupid.

If it’s a man toy car then ditch eveything. It seems assanine to remove PS but keep AC. Stupid indeed.

dot. Just wear a cowboy hat if you need to up your man status.

Dude its 100 out already, I’m keeping the A/C. I’ll be using 315’s up front, this is why I’m asking for advice, I have no experience trying to drive a car without power steering. If you have let me know how it is! Well beside my Silverado when the p/s went out and it wasn’t bad at all.

I’m not doing it to gain power, I’m doing it to keep the engine bay cleaner and simpler. I have all the crap for it and will keep all that crap if I don’t like it.

Plus the GM power steering design is about 100 years old and even with upgraded fluid I still boil it during track events. I don’t want to add another cooler to it. :confused:

If I do end up needing it, I’ll probably try to use one of the new Ford Mustang’s electric ps units.