Remote Starters

My wife wants a remote starter for her Honda Fit for Christmas. I know a little bit less than nothing about them as far as good brands, options, etc. Anyone with experiences…good or bad? Is it worth it to get one with the defroster on the fob?

I’m also interested in installer recommendations. I was going to take her car one day, get one installed, then give her the remote for Christmas.

Talk to Chaz over at First-Bass… Site sponser

pm FBA, he’ll set ya straight…

I have yet to install a remote start into a fit. But from my experance Its 70% install 30% product. DEI products are the best hands down. Best buy just Picked up a new Series of them and I did not use them yet. They are Very Expensive. R/S with keyless is $300 without a bypass (aka Chipped Key). getting the Defroster on the FOB is an option but i never did it. I always tell the people to just put the defrosters on. (not Rear but blower).

I have been installing these damn things for 5 years now. If you have any other questions. You have my number.

Team nutz uses a product called Omega or something like that. Those Units Seem just as good as the DEI units.

The omega’s are nowhere near comparable to the DEI quality. One shop I was at tried to supplement them as a “cheapie” or sale item, and they came back to bite in the ass.

The DEI defroster option is just a matter of a little extra wiring, and the r/s will kick the defroster on automatically. I’ve done it in the past for customers, but usually don’t bother on my own…

chaz
412-353-0631
http://www.first-bass.com/

So I would have to get a bypass since the key is chipped?

I’ll PM Chaz too. I don’t care about driving it somewhere for the install…I’m always in Erie fishing so I could drop it for a weekend without her knowing.

http://www.first-bass.com/

Yes you would need some type of bypass to get it to start. There are acually a few different options you can go with.