suspension gurus chime in, i've got a few questions.

i’m new to the 240 scene and have a couple questions for my project car (s14) with regards to a rear suspension setup i’m developing:

1. what spring rates is everyone running for which application (drag, drift, road race, street use) and what is the factory spring rates?

2. what is the maximum suspension travel of the rear from a stand still to full compression?

3. what is the average weight of a 240?

4. are there any known traction issues common with 240’s, and if so what is the usual remedy?

any help is appreciated.

This is best answered by reading around forums and gaining information yourself. check out other people setups to see what works and what doesnt.

Common rates are 8/6, 9/7, 12/10 etc… Softer generally being better for a road race setup an stiffer for drifitng. But thats a very general statement. I dont know the factory spring rates. Suspension travel on stock suspension?

Weights range from something like 2650lbs to just under 2900lbs depending on year and trim level.

Traction issues? Sway bars make the most difference in dialing in over/understeer. But of course theres tons of other factors.

Like i said, go read, theres tons of info out there.

thanks for the response. i don’t think i’ll be drifting the car, although i may just try it to see how my suspension idea works. first and foremost the car will be a street car, but i might do a bit of road racing and possibly a couple trips to the drag strip. traction is important in different ways for different needs. i’m aiming for 450-500whp, so i’m leaning more toward keeping it soft. i am running the oem sway bar, but no sway bar in the front. here are some pics of the suspension i’m developing:

old coilover on top, new one on the bottom:
http://i47.photobucket.com/albums/f161/weirtech/Project%20RWD%20CRX/DSC00732.jpg

http://i47.photobucket.com/albums/f161/weirtech/Project%20RWD%20CRX/DSC00742.jpg